Advertisement
24 Common Foods That Have Gluten 

24 Common Foods That Have Gluten 

Knowing foods that have gluten can help regulate your diet, but first, what’s it about? Gluten can be found in a variety of foods, usually in unexpected or hidden places. If “gluten-free” is not indicated on the label, always read the label of every food product you purchase.

They are referred to as the proteins found in wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten is also used in foods as a thickening agent, as well as to provide texture and flavor.

Advertisement

With stretchy properties and is the substance responsible for the chewy texture of bread and baked foods such as wheat, barley, and rye, have been associated with a lower incidence of heart disease, stroke, and diabetes. 

Some Gluten Infused Supplements Include

There are few food intakes that come with gluten to help improve flavoring while savoring meals, they include:

Advertisement

1. Bread

Bread
Image Source: foodandwine.com
Food & Wine

This includes all breads (excluding those labeled “gluten-free”), rolls, buns, bagels, biscuits, and flour tortillas.

2. Bakery Products

Bakery Products
Image Source: supermarketnews.com
Supermarket News

Gluten is present in baked foods such as cake, cookies, doughnuts, muffins, and pies, as well as pancakes and waffles.

Advertisement

3. Pasta

Pasta
Image Source: goodnes.com
goodNes.com

Gluten is present in all wheat pasta, including spaghetti, fettuccine, macaroni, lasagne, and ravioli.

4. Cereal

Cereal
Image Source: healthline.com
Healthline

Not all morning cereals contain wheat, but many do, so read the nutrition labels carefully. Also, keep in mind that oats are frequently produced and processed alongside wheat. As a result, oat goods will contain gluten unless they are labeled gluten-free.

5. Crackers

Crackers
Image Source: thespruceeats.com
The Spruce Eats

Gluten can be found in popular snack foods such as crackers, pretzels, and some types of chips.

6. Beer 

Beer 
Image Source: tastingtable.com
Tasting Table

This is manufactured from malted barley, which contains gluten. Some liquors contain wheat, so read the labels carefully.

Unfortunately, the refreshing beverage that is best enjoyed with friends and loved ones contains gluten. Beer, like our beloved milkshakes, contains malt barley. 

In addition, if you’re attempting to avoid gluten, hard cider is an excellent alternative to beer. Some brands of meatless (veggie or vegan) pepperoni use wheat gluten as a binder.

READ ALSO!!!

7. Gravy

Gravy
Image Source: allrecipes.com
Allrecipes

Gluten is present in gravies and ready-meals containing gravy. Powdered gravy mixes include gluten as well unless specifically labeled “gluten-free.”

8. Soy Sauce 

Soy Sauce 
Image Source: theguardian.com
The Guardian

Many people believe that because rice and rice-based noodles are used, they are acceptable to eat various Asian foods (particularly Japanese food). This is used as a dipping sauce for sushi and rice as well as a base for many Asian sauces such as teriyaki.

Water, soybeans, wheat, and salt are the four main constituents of soy sauce. This is because of the small size of the particles, a gluten antibody test cannot identify levels of gluten in soy sauce. Even if the amounts are minute, soy sauce can irritate celiac disease sufferers. While the flavor isn’t as salty as soy sauce, it has a much fuller flavor.

9. Salad Dressing

Salad Dressing
Image Source: taste.com.au
Taste

Unless you make your own salad dressings or buy them from a specialty store, you’re probably dressing your vegetables with a gluten-containing product.

Many manufacturers should include the phrase “contains wheat” on the label to inform buyers. To be certain that you are not consuming gluten, make your own dressing at home. 

10. Vegetables

Vegetables
Image Source: bhg.com
Better Homes & Gardens

While simple veggies, whether fresh or frozen, are naturally gluten-free, those with sauces, seasonings, add-ons, or unique forms (such as broccoli stars) may contain wheat gluten.

11. French fries

French fries
Image Source: cooking.nytimes.com
NYT Cooking

Avoid “crunchy,” “seasoned,” or “battered” fries, as well as fries with gravy or sauces, unless you can confirm that they are made entirely of gluten-free components.

Fast food fries are almost certainly fried in the same oil as gluten-containing items. Grocery store frozen seasoned fries may also contain wheat flour.

12. Pickles and Nuts 

Pickles and Nuts 
Image Source: snacksafely.com
SnackSafely.com

Some brands use malt vinegar (produced from barley). Then as for nuts, Plain, packaged nuts are usually gluten-free, but avoid nuts from bulk bins due to probable cross-contact.

13. Ice cream and Dessert Bars

Ice cream and Dessert Bars
Image Source: bettycrocker.com
Betty Crocker

While fruit ice cream produced with simply fruit juice, water, and sweetener should be gluten-free, other frozen sweets on a stick may include gluten. 

Fudge bars, for example, could be prepared with malted barley extract. Ice cream and frozen yogurt bars may contain additional ingredients, wheat starch that isn’t gluten-free, or gluten-containing flavorings like malt.

14. Cocktail Mixers 

Cocktail Mixers 
Image Source: damonpacking.com
Damon Industries

Some mixers that you add to alcohol, such as Bloody Mary mix, contain wheat or barley derivatives.

15. Wine coolers and Hard Lemonades 

Wine Coolers and Hard Lemonades
Image Source: bloomberg.com
Bloomberg

Fermented alcoholic beverages made from the malt are troublesome. A malt basis could be used in some wine coolers or beverages advertised as wine coolers. 

Some beverages that appear to be hard cider derived from apples may really be malt-based, apple-flavored beverages.

16. Soups 

Soups 
Image Source: eatwell101.com
Eatwell 101

Depending on the type, the substantial lunch staple may include gluten. Soups that are thicker and creamier in general contain gluten because they employ wheat or flour to thicken the sauce. 

Of course, soups with pasta, such as chicken noodles or chicken orzo, include gluten as a result of their contents. Check the ingredient list of your favorite soups to check whether any grain by-products are listed as most gluten-free soups will be labeled.

You can always make soups at home instead of relying on bought canned soups. Simply begin with a soup foundation of broth (vegetable, chicken, beef, or shrimp) or tomato then to increase the healthiness and flavor of your food, add fresh proteins and vegetables.

17. Processed Lunch Meats

Processed Lunch Meats
Image Source: eatthis.com
Eat This Not That

It’s common to believe that the gluten-heavy component of a sandwich is the bread. It has been shown that certain deli and processed meats may also contain the substance. Deli meat frequently incorporates seasoning and binders to give it flavor or texture. 

Some of these goods contain rye, barley, or wheat. Always ask your butcher if the meat you’re buying includes gluten, or check the label. Instead of buying deli meat, consider baking or grilling it.

18. ‘Meat’ Imitation

'Meat' Imitation
Image Source: cntraveller.in
Conde Nast Traveller India

When it comes to meat, pay attention to the elements in meat substitutes as well. Seitan, a popular vegetarian dish, is made from wheat. In truth, seitan is prepared by combining flour and water and working it till you see a sticky, gluten-rich dough. 

Instead of purchasing fake meat, try eating veggies high in plant protein to meet your protein demands. Peas, spinach, kale, broccoli, and mushrooms are among them.

19. Potato Chips 

Potato Chips 
Image Source: eatthis.com
Eat This Not That

Potatoes in their natural state do not contain gluten, however several of our favorite chip flavors may. As previously stated, spices may comprise flavorful additives such as wheat, barley, or rye. Generally, ordinary potato chips should suffice. 

Generally, ordinary potato chips should suffice so try creating your own potato chips with Yukon, blue, or sweet potatoes for a healthier and gluten-free alternative. For a kick, try flavor combos such as sea salt and pepper, or cayenne pepper.

20. Malt Milkshakes 

Malt Milkshakes 
Image Source: epicurious.com
Epicurious

Malt, the wonderful sweetener found in milkshakes and whoppers (among other foods), contains gluten. Malt makes our list because it is made from barley, one of the three gluten-containing cereals. 

Fortunately, while typical malt contains gluten, there are seeds known as pseudo-grains. These produce similar malt tastes by turning the starch characteristics of the seed into sugars.

21. Eggs 

 Eggs 
Image Source: healthline.com
Healthline

This may seem unusual given that eggs are manufactured entirely of animal protein while gluten is made entirely of plant-based protein. The gluten in some eggs is due to the additives added to a specific variety of eggs. 

Some restaurants are known to use pancake batter in their omelets or egg scrambles to add fullness and taste. When ordering eggs at a restaurant, choose a style such as poached or sunny-side up to ensure a gluten-free lunch.

22. Cheesecake Compound

Cheesecake Compound
Image Source: chefjeanpierre.com
Chef Jean Pierre

A wheat filling is frequently used in many cheesecake recipes for thickening and texture. Along with the filling, the cheesecake crust will be baked. Gluten is commonly found in cheesecake crust. 

While cheesecake may appear to be the safest dessert for gluten-free sweet tooth aficionados to indulge in (as opposed to cakes and brownies), it is not. To avoid eating gluten-containing cheesecake, try creating the filling from scratch. Alternatively, buy gluten-free filling in addition to gluten-free crust.

23. Sliced Deli Meats

Sliced Deli Meats
Image Source: polana.com
Polana Polish Food Online

They may contain gluten-containing thickeners such as wheat-derived dextrin or modified food starch. While not all of these two additions are sourced from gluten-containing cereals, some are. 

Even if deli meats are gluten-free, avoid cross-contamination by having deli workers use the same slicing machines for all products. Pre-packaged lunch meats labeled or verified gluten-free are one technique to avoid cross-contact. 

24. Vegan Hot Dogs

Vegan Hot Dogs
Image Source: chicago.eater.com
Eater Chicago

Like other imitation meat products, some manufacturers use wheat gluten to bond and may flavor with yeast extract and this is because deli meats are regulated by the USDA rather than the FDA. So, for any questions or concerns, contact the manufacturer.

Summary

Some products use wheat gluten, while others use oat bran or rolled oats so to avoid potential cross-contact with gluten-containing oats, look for veggie burgers with oats that are labeled or verified gluten-free. 

Pay close attention to the labels of all the goods you eat to take the guessing out of going gluten-free. Your stomach will be grateful!

Advertisement